Home > Religion > There is a God

There is a God

Honestly, the image of the Eucharistic Miracle of Naju is freaking me out.  As I was telling my best friend Emmilyn the other day, it brought the Fear of God back into my vocabulary… which is actually a good thing.  (See my post Eucharistic Miracles.)
 
There is a God.  And He is real!!! 
 
For those who are very strong in their faith, such miracles are no longer necessary for them.  For most people journeying in life who are trying to deepen their faith, myself included, such miracles are a big help.  These remind us about the truth of our belief in a world that has so far been very successful in virtually removing God from almost every facet of humanity. 
 
What reflections can we get for this and other miracles that happened throughout the history of Christianity?
 
1. Because there is a God, we need to think of how we do all things in the light of eternity. 
 
There is a life after this fleeting moment in this world.  What are we doing now to help grow in our love for Him?  He, who desires all of us to experience His love and joy forever, is encouraging us to follow His will and command so that we can win the race and merit the crown of everlasting life.  As St. Paul writes: 
For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time has come for my departure. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day – and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.  (2 Timothy 4: 6 – 8)
To consider all things in the light of eternity would make being forever with God the most important priority of our lives.  Everything else, any and every concern or joy, either ultimately does not really matter, or only comes in second with respect to God.
 
2. Because there is a God, there is Someone looking out for our welfare out of love for us. 
 
No matter how bad – or even good – things are, ultimately it is God who is in charge, allowing pain and suffering for our own growth, and giving us blessings and abundance for the simple reason that He also wants us to be happy while here on earth.  And He knows the most important things we need in our life – we can trust Him that He will give us what’s best for us. 
 
It’s easy to see why faith and trust are important to have in times of crisis.  It’s hard to see how such pain and suffering will ultimately be for our own good.  Easier said than done, but in the end it really is going to turn out for the best, somehow, somewhere, someday. 
 
There is a God, and He is with us during bad times – we just need to trust in Him that He will help us see it through. 
 
If we need faith and trust in God during difficult times, then we need just as much of it when it comes to hoping that He will grant what we ask for, or retain the gifts and blessings He has already given us which we enjoy. 
 
He is God, after all.  All things are possible with Him if we have but faith and trust in Him.  We need faith and trust to believe that He will continue to give us the good that He sends to us, as much as He also allows bad things to happen to us to make us better people.
 
There is a God, and He is with us during good times – we need to be grateful for the undeserved blessings He showers on us. 
 
Ultimately God wants us to be better people, more than we think we can be, for despite our weaknesses and sins, He sees us the way we could be because of His love.  He will give us whatever will be in our best interest. 
 
3. Because there is a God, He desires that we follow His will. 
 
Now, it’s not like He’s a dictator demanding that we follow Him.  In His love for us He gave us the capability to reject His will and command if we really don’t want to do it.  I can imagine some people are not amenable to this, thinking that they do not want to be subject to such authority.
 
What is His will and command anyway?  Taken from John 15: 9 – 17, it is simply this (with my emphasis in red): 
As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. You are my friends if you do what I command. I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you. You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit – fruit that will last. Then the Father will give you whatever you ask in my name. This is my command: Love each other.
Give up doing evil.  Take up doing good.  Isn’t this command beautiful and ultimately something we all want? 
 
The only measure of love is love that has no measure.  And the only love that’s true is one that hurts. 
 
May we all use God’s grace to follow His will and command to love one another all the days of our lives.  And more importantly, to love Him back as best as we can through loving each other.  God is worthy of our love, for He loved us while we were still sinners and died for us on the Cross. 
 
 
Jesus, King of Mercy, I trust in You! 
 
 
As I was writing this I looked up a couple of resources regarding the Fear of God.  For those interested about this topic, check out the following links for further reading:
Categories: Religion
  1. No comments yet.
  1. February 26, 2011 at 11:49 pm

Leave a Reply

