Home > Personal > God Can Do Anything, If Only You and I Believe

God Can Do Anything, If Only You and I Believe

February 23, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments
When I went to Mass today, the Gospel reading was taken from Mark 9:14 – 19.  I quote in particular verses 19 – 27 in the said passage as follows.  (Note the emphasis I put in alternating colors in the text.) 
 
“O unbelieving generation,” Jesus replied, “how long shall I stay with you? How long shall I put up with you? Bring the boy to me.” 
So they brought him. When the spirit saw Jesus, it immediately threw the boy into a convulsion. He fell to the ground and rolled around, foaming at the mouth.
Jesus asked the boy’s father, “How long has he been like this?”
“From childhood,” he answered. “It has often thrown him into fire or water to kill him. But if you can do anything, take pity on us and help us.”
‘If you can’?” said Jesus. “Everything is possible for him who believes.
Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!
When Jesus saw that a crowd was running to the scene, he rebuked the evil spirit. “You deaf and mute spirit,” he said, “I command you, come out of him and never enter him again.”
The spirit shrieked, convulsed him violently and came out. The boy looked so much like a corpse that many said, “He’s dead.” But Jesus took him by the hand and lifted him to his feet, and he stood up.
 
God can do anything, literally – if only we believe!
 
How many of us are like the father in the story who has but little faith in Him? 
 
God can do anything, literally – if only I believe! 
 
I am like such a man.  Despite all my efforts I am still a man of very little faith.  To make matters worse, I know for a fact that I can be quite ungrateful for the gifts and blessings He has given me in my life.
 
If only I had really strong faith and trust in Him, I wouldn’t doubt for a moment that I would get what I beg for from God…
 
But I am a man of little faith.  Oh God, what little faith I have in You, may that be enough for You to hear my plea.  Please grant me what I wish…  Only if it is Your will, too.  And if it is not, please give me the grace to discern it and the strength to accept Your will in my life. 
 
Let us all persevere in our prayers, for He does give us what we ask for, in the way that is best for us.  
 
He can give us what we ask for.  He can give us what we need.  Even the faith we have, as little and weak as it may be, is ultimately still something that God can work with for us to believe in Him and grow in faith and love for Him.
 
Oh God, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”
 
Jesus, King of Mercy, I trust in You! 
 


 
This post especially goes out to my good friends Bryan and Karen.  I can only begin to imagine the challenge up ahead.  Hold fast to your faith and trust in God.  Things will turn out for the best.
 
Categories: Personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. February 27, 2011 at 11:14 am

Leave a Reply

