Home > Computers and Internet > PLDT SMTP settings

PLDT SMTP settings

Recently there were changes with the PLDT network setup in my area.  After much anxiety my connection problem was solved.  However one of the other things that changed were my SMTP settings.  A quick Google search and a visit to PLDT’s DSL website revealed the cause of the problem.  PLDT changed the SMTP server and blocked access to port 25.  This change only affected me when the new network configuration was setup in my area.
 
This SMTP change will only affect a user who uses an e-mail client to access his PLDT e-mail account.  Web access to said account has no problems. 
 
I’m using Outlook Express, and here are the settings that work for this client (and I guess this will be similar for other clients, too):
 
  • SMTP server: smtpdsl4.pldtdsl.net
  • Uncheck the "My server requires authentication" option
  • Port: 587
Unfortunately for me, it didn’t help that at the time this happened there were also some Exchange problems in the infrastructure.  I could tell this from the error messages that I was getting.  Fortunately things went back in order.  Let’s hope they stay that way. 
 
Something interesting to check out, too: Listing of Philippine ISP’s SMTP server.  NOTE: This list still shows the original PLDT SMTP server used which is apparently no longer operational.  The new PLDT SMTP server is mentioned somewhere in the comments section. 
 
  1. August 21, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Hi there, I had a try with this smtp settings but it doesn’t work. I hope you could help me here, I am pldt dsl newbie so Im really unsure with the settings. I haven’t found the right ones so far in Google. Much Thanks!

    • August 22, 2011 at 9:27 pm

      I’m sorry, but I don’t know anything beyond this particular item that I found out.

      Since the time I posted this, I switched to using Windows Live! Mail and entered port 587 and the SMTP server listed, and it still worked. The only change I made since switching to Live! Mail was to append my username with the “@pldtdsl.net” domain, since before in Outlook Express the username alone was sufficient. With that minor change in place, I’m able to download e-mail.

  2. October 1, 2014 at 7:22 am

    Thanks a lot! This helped me! Im using an android tablet and configured my stock mail app. I can receive but cant send. Your settings WORKED! Thanks again..

  1. January 9, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Leave a Reply

