Home > Personal > Participation in His Will

Participation in His Will

One of my college professors once said (more or less), “so what if you know how to solve the problem?  If you’re not the one given the opportunity to solve it then what’s the point?”
Last August 11, I received a long-distance call from a head hunter based in the U.S.  She was a recruiter for one of the few financial institutions in the U.S. that had the bragging rights of not needing any bail-out funding from the federal government.  The company was setting up IT operations in Fort Bonifacio, Taguig, and they were looking to staff people with system engineering skills to support the business.  She saw my resume and considered me qualified for one of the open positions, hence the call. 
I thanked her for the offer, but had to decline it because it did not match my career interests.  It’s always nice to know, though, that my skills are still very relevant and marketable in the industry. 
As we were about to end the call, she asked if I knew anyone who might be interested in the position she was offering.  I mentioned that I knew someone who was qualified; she is currently in Canada but would be coming home to Manila soon.  To cut a long story short, it turned out that the recruiter was next scheduled to interview my friend Karen.   What turned out to be a job offer interview turned into a referral interview!  There must be a first time for everything, and as far as I’m concerned this was one of them.  Karen was a great fit for the role.  I hope she will be accepted because this would make things so much better for her: She would be working in the same company and in the same team as her husband, Bryan. 
Circumstances forced Bryan and Karen to end up half-way around the world from each other; this is a story that I will defer to them, in their own place and time.  Suffice it to say, things are looking very good for them: Karen was finally coming home, and there was a good chance that a job would already be waiting for her when she got home. 
Think about it: Here was this recruiter based in the U.S., reaching out to me in Manila, only to get an outstanding referral for someone she was scheduled to interview that was based in Canada.  It’s been said that we live in a small world, but just the same, what are the chances that such a thing could even happen?  Coincidence?  It can’t be!  It’s just too much to be just a mere coincidence.  With God there are no such things as coincidences – but there are such things as miracles, which I believe this one was! 
In my later chat with Karen, she mentioned that the recruiter was just overjoyed at this experience.  She was surprised and touched by the discussion we had. 
It’s just absolutely miraculous how God lines up people and events to ensure that His will is done.  I guess for Him to help me believe that miracles still happen in this world, He ensured that I played a direct part in one now.  It’s a small miracle, but a miracle nevertheless.  It happened to me many times when I was in school, and especially during my college years.   Now this was happening for Bryan and Karen. 
For myself, I was also blessed by this experience.  Anyone could have done what I did.  God could have chosen anyone to take point for it.  But out of all the people He could have chosen, He chose me to be that person to be in this place and time to be the one to help carry out His will for these two people, when they need it the most. 
This is one of the few times that I was courageous enough to respond to God’s call and take advantage of the opportunity He sent me to be a blessing to others.  It was a chance He gave me to make a small difference in this world , and is an honor and a privilege that I will always be grateful for. 
Thank You, too, God, for making me believe in miracles again.  Yes, good things do still happen because of You! Smile
 
Jesus, King of Mercy, I trust in You! 
 
Categories: Personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

