Home > Religion > God is in Control

God is in Control

So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall! No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it. (1 Corinthians 10:12 – 13)
In other words, God will not send us trials beyond our strength. 
 
I take comfort in the thought that God is ultimately in control of everything.  No matter how bad things may be, no matter how deep the heartache or how terrible the tragedy, He is in control and is allowing it because He has something good for us coming out of such painful experiences. 
 
 
Bad Things Happen
 
Tragedies happen, like Typhoon Ondoy (international name Ketsana) that wrecked havoc in the country last September 26.  Daily tragedies happen, like the story of scavengers who literally have to pick up uneaten scraps of food from restaurants in order to survive.  Private tragedies happen, like my heart getting broken over and over.  Yes, it’s hard to make sense with these painful situations, but in all of these, God is still in control, and would not allow such things to happen unless He has a higher purpose for it. 
 
Even God has His share of tragedy: He allowed His only Son to die on the Cross. 
But look at the storm: After it has come and gone, people were able to pick themselves up after the storm.  Although it has brought out the worst in people, it is more noteworthy to see that it has brought out the best in more people, too. 
Look a the poor people: They are able to still eat – literally, I sincerely believe, because God finds a way to take care of them, and yes at the most basic level He ensures His children have something to eat.  It is up to people like me who have been given more in life to participate in His work of salvation by giving more. 
Look at me: Well, I really don’t know what He has in store for me yet, but whatever it is, I can trust that it’s for my best, since so far He’s ensured that good things have either come out or are still happening despite the most dire of circumstances.  If He can take care of a lot of people, then He can take care of me. 
Last but definitely not the least, look at Jesus Himself: If it weren’t for His passion and death on the Cross, we would never be saved. 
 
 
At Day’s End
Here’s something that a friend of mine got from the “What God wants you to know today,” an application she subscribed to in Facebook which I also subscribe to:
My friend got a message that on this day, God wants her to know: That how bad things may look right now means nothing – it’s how good they can be with God’s help that counts. 
In life you can absolutely count on one thing – everything can turn around in one day, in one minute sometimes.  Don’t you dare to give up – you might be a moment away from a windfall.
 
Speaking for myself, frankly I don’t care anymore if I’m over-spiritualizing everything in my life.  The fact is that I’m too incompetent to do anything that is really anything good and worthy.  There are so many things that are supposedly within my control that I cannot competently do something about; what more about the things that I have no control whatsoever. 
At the end of the day, God is the only Person Who I can put my faith and trust in to see me through the crosses I have to carry in my life.  He is in control, no matter how bad the situation may look.  And He will help me see through it all. 
 
To quote Fr. John Speekman: “And now He says to each one of us, ‘Do not be afraid. Retrieve all those discarded sufferings, your Cross. Gather them all up and follow Me. They are your salvation now, because I have made suffering the greatest possible expression of love open to man. Your sufferings are invaluable when you bear them with Me and they will lead you to eternal life.’”
 
Jesus, King of Mercy, I trust in You! 
Categories: Religion
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

