Home > Personal > Unrequited Love

Unrequited Love

December 12, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments
‘If you can’?” said Jesus. “Everything is possible for him who believes.” (Mark 9:23)
 
For someone like me who supposedly has strong faith in God, it’s ironic, if not hypocritical, that, to be perfectly honest, I still have serious doubts that He has someone for me in life. 
 
I’m not the only one who suffers such heartaches.  Unrequited love is a common problem shared by so many people.  I say this because all the people I know have gone through this painful experience at one point or another.  Even people I don’t know, such as the HappySad cartoonist, have this problem.  (I’m actually struck by how accurately he is able to capture the emotion and experience of unrequited love.) 
Neo: What are you trying to tell me? That I can dodge bullets?
Morpheus: No, Neo. I’m trying to tell you that when you’re ready, you won’t have to.
As a priest once told me, if I put my trust in people, they will only fail me and leave me.  Such is everybody’s nature, for we are all imperfect.  I should put my trust in God instead for He will always be there and will never let me down!
 
May I learn to trust and love God more so that unrequited love is something that I won’t have to deal with.  I’m sure that He will never stop loving me! 
 
Jesus, King of Mercy, I trust in You! 
 
 
See also: Only Love.
Categories: Personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

