Home > Personal > Advancing the Future

Advancing the Future

Time waits for no one, and time will march on – with or without you. 
Many years ago, in my youth, the 21st century seemed like a long way off.  When I look back now, the past seemed like only yesterday, for many years have since passed in a blink of an eye when I first wondered about the future.  It’s now 2010 – we’ve just gone through the first decade of the 21st century. 
Last week saw the end of the action drama “24,” and I couldn’t help but wander into thinking about the future as a result of the end of this show.  I won’t go into the details, but suffice it to say, this show was one of the best of its kind.  It broke new ground with its innovation to present events in real-time – within a span of 24 hours.  Anyway…  The show ended with the hero fading off in the distance after another interesting day (24 hours) has passed, and this day happened sometime in the future.  There is no sense of time in terms of when this “future” is so it could have been in 2010 or in 2020 for all we know.  It didn’t matter.  Although there aren’t any flying cars or personalized jetpacks that previous generations fantasized would be present in the 21st century, what we are experiencing in life as it is at the moment is our present reality.  The future is where we are now. 
Speaking of time, last week I watched the movie “Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time,” and the obvious theme in the movie is the concept of time travel and what one would do with this power.  It made me wonder what I would do if I could go back and talk to my younger self about the future, knowing what I know now.  The one thing that comes to my mind is what I’d do about the relationships I have; there’s at least one mistake that cost me 12 years of my life that I would like to avoid.  I guess it’s fortunate that time travel isn’t possible (at least not yet?); ultimately even the bad things that have happened in my life had a good side to it because they helped build my character.  I am who I am now because of the many events that has happened to me over the years and how I responded to such events. 
I think about my present reality, and am very grateful to God for the many blessings He has given me in all the years of my life to date.  I wonder how my life will be like 10 or 20 years from now when things will definitely be very different from what I’m currently experiencing. 
In the blink of an eye, one day I’ll just wake up to find myself an old man.  Possibly, I could be a single old man, though, not really completely lonely in life. 
God was there for me in my youth.  He is with me now.  He will still be there for me in my twilight years. 
Whatever the future will look like for me, one thing I’m sure of is this: God will be with me every step of the way.  As weak as it is, I have faith.  And I trust in Him. 
 
 
Jesus, I trust in You! 
 
Categories: Personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

