Home > Computers and Internet > PLDT DSL Issues

PLDT DSL Issues

Since switching over to WordPress, and thanks to the features of this blogging service, I noticed that my blog gets visibility because of the two posts I have concerning the PLDT issues I encountered in the past.  For whoever will find this beneficial, the following are the two posts I’ve made so far regarding the issues I encountered:

  • PLDT E-mail Passwords: What I did when PLDT switched to using Zimbra for web e-mail and I needed to reset my password.
  • PLDT SMTP settings: SMTP configuration changes needed to access one’s PLDT e-mail.

In both instances I wasn’t aware of these changes because I didn’t get the notification about it, and so these caught me by surprise.

Some additional tips:

During the times when my phone line was down, I tried reporting my problem via their 77171 TXTPRESS. Note that this works only if you have a Smart SIM; I got one just to be able to use this service. The SLA to get a call back is within 30 minutes from your text, and at least from my experience they have not yet failed in doing said call back.  The syntax is basically PLDT REPORT <your name> <area code + tel. no.> then send it to 77171.

If your phone line is okay but it’s just the DSL that is out, you can dial 172 to directly connect to their DSL technical support instead of navigating to this group via their main 171 number.

Once you get a hold of a technical support representative, you’ll go through the motions of attempting to troubleshoot the issue. In most cases this will end with the technical support representative creating a problem support ticket for you. Request that whoever gets assigned to this problem support ticket call you back, and leave them your contact number (it can be your cell phone if your phone line is also out). I have found this to be particularly useful because I get to talk to someone from the support team looking into the problem. From my experience someone from their network engineering group (whatever it’s called; I don’t know the real name of this team) actually calls back; sometimes they’re late, but they still call back. The technical support representative would not have a sense of how bad the problem is and how soon service can be restored, so you’ll have a better chance of getting a little more information out of the network engineer.

Although you can request for a rebate if you encountered a prolonged loss of service (possible only after service is restored), don’t expect that this will actually happen. I tried it and the exercise was so futile I gave up, if only to control my temper and retain my sanity. Try it if you like, and let me know if you actually succeed. It’s just disappointing that they offerred me this option when in practice they could not follow-through with it properly. I’m sharing this experience now to help set your expectations.

That’s it for now. Good luck!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

