Home > Ideas and Philosophy > Tactics in Life: Take Command, Be Decisive

Tactics in Life: Take Command, Be Decisive

February 15, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects. – Robert Heinlein

Assume command. Be the one that makes and executes the decisions. Avoid indecisiveness at all costs but ensure you also make the right decisions. If there seems to be nothing happening in life then take point to make things happen. Between two evils of a rash and stupid decision where something happens and indecisiveness where nothing happens, the former is still better. At least if it doesn’t work then you’ll know early on and correct as appropriate. Not doing anything because you cannot decide will literally yield nothing; stagnation means death. Doing something to push an agenda is the required action that should be taken.

Take point in making decisions, even if such entails making tough decisions. Don’t let someone else take point for what you’re supposed to be doing anyway.

I am the master of my fate; I am the captain of my soul. Speaking for myself, I can do this by taking charge of my life: I will plan for what I want and be disciplined in executing it until the very end. This also means being in tune with my surroundings and adapting as appropriate so that my goals are met. I will not shy away from any difficulty but instead face it with force and even excel in what needs to be done.

In faith I know that God will bless my efforts if these are part of His will, and so to ensure success I must align my plans with His will, which He always designs in my best interest.

Take command and be decisive. It’s the only way to make things happen and move things forward. And as far as my life is concerned, I have the conn.

Categories: Ideas and Philosophy

Leave a Reply

