Home > Ideas and Philosophy > Connecting to People

Connecting to People

September 29, 2015 Leave a comment Go to comments

One of the Starbucks baristas commented that I seem to still be working on weekends.  She made that comment because there I was again with my laptop, ready to spend the weekend afternoon just typing away.  I told her that this wasn’t work; I write as my coping mechanism to handle the stress of work.  In particular, I write about killing the people in the office I don’t like, which is obviously better than actually doing it for real (if only I could make it look like an accident!).  My barista friends learn something new about me once in a while, though in this case I think it was something disturbing; I could tell this from the gasps of shock I received.

I hang out at Starbucks so often that these baristas are literally the closest thing I have to a barkada (group of friends) these days.  I know just by observing them do their work and their interactions with each other and their clients that they seem to have so much fun; I feel envious with what they have the more I think about it.  Perhaps in another lifetime it would actually be nice to be part of their world.  But for now, I’d like to think my interactions with them as a loyal client, the laughs (and in this case the shock of horror) I give them as I share my insanity with them, is something that I have with them that makes their day a little less routine and dull, if it ever felt that way.  In other words my quiet (or not) presence adds to the fun in their day.

There’s another world out there.  Life is bigger than the small bubble that I call my comfort zone, my home.  It’s populated by people who have their own life stories to share.  And I can only begin to imagine the interesting stories these acquaintances, as well as others that have yet to cross my path in my journey in this life, will likely have, and how richer my life would be as a result of spending time with them, if only I had the strength to stop thinking of myself too much for a change, and if only I had all the time in the world to sit down and listen to them.  I miss the chance to hear those stories while I’m in the comfort of my cocoon.

Relationship Rule - You have a story

Life is not all about comfort, though – obviously.  There will be days when things will be bad, and then there will be days when it just gets worse.  And when you think it can’t get any worse, sometimes it just does.

I have dealt with different kinds of personality whether in business or in the academe. From the wealthy and the powerful to the lowly and the humble and here is my finding: Everybody is vulnerable to hurt and pains. Some cope with it well, others disguise it better but every person hurts. This is why we need to be kind to everyone no matter what their social status is. A small act of kindness leaves a big impact and may heal a hurting soul. – Francis Kong

Inevitably part of everyone’s life story will involve some measure of sorrow every now and then.  Nobody wants to suffer, and I include myself in that count.

I’ve come to realize, though, that suffering is a necessary evil if only to be fully immersed in the experience of being human.  It’s true that misery loves company, but the hidden blessing from this is that you learn to be more sympathetic, more empathetic, more compassionate, and ultimately more loving to everyone else who’s also suffering in their own special way.  When I suffer, I am one with everyone else because I can relate to the human condition, too.  I also grow to be a better human being, one way or another.  And in the end, I’d rather suffer with my fellowman, than live a life free of stress but lonely.

Being lonely more painful than getting hurt

Like what has been said before, life is like a piano.  The white keys represent times of joy while the black keys represent times of sadness.  In the end, both keys contribute to making beautiful music.  For what it’s worth, life wouldn’t be as exciting and as colorful in the absence of angst and struggle, for such gives us a reason, even an inspiration, to do something to make things in our lives, and consequently in our world, better.

We are all meant to be with and for each other as members in the family of man.  We are all connected in the common hopes, dreams, and joys, as well as in the suffering, pain, and trials we all share.  Let’s all try to be a little kinder, gentler, merciful, patient, and generous to each other, as we’re all in this together.

God grant me the serenity to accept the people I cannot change; courage to change the people that I can; and wisdom to know that this person is me.” – Anonymous

Speaking for myself, I hope I never let the opportunity pass to connect to the people that come into my life, whether they stay for a while and then leave when their time has come to do so after they have accomplished what they were meant to do in my life, or they stay and live in my heart forever.

Categories: Ideas and Philosophy

Leave a Reply

