Home > Ideas and Philosophy > Nothing Lasts Forever: Refusing to Let Go

Nothing Lasts Forever: Refusing to Let Go

September 25, 2016 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s in our human nature to have an obstinate refusal to let go of the people we love.

It’s tragic when they’re snatched from us so suddenly; our world also ends when theirs end.

Even if you still have some time to prepare, no amount of preparation will ever make you ready when the time comes.  You can spend as much quality time as you can get, but when it happens five years or fifty years from now, it still won’t be enough.

And so how does one respond to this?  Do we love harder?  Do we squeeze tighter?  Or do we embrace the Buddhist creed of no attachment?  Do we pretend not to care then everything and everyone we know is going to be taken away from us and I, I don’t know if I can accept that.  I think I’m more side with the Dylan Thomas quote that says “I will not go quietly into that good night but instead rage against the dying over the light.”

I think that we defy entropy and impermanence with our films and our poems.  I think we hold on to each other a little harder and say “I will not let go!  I do not accept the ephemeral nature of this moment.  I’m going to extend it forever… Or at least I’m going to try.” – Existential Bummer by Jason Silva (via Shots of Awe YouTube channel)

We’re not meant to be here forever.  If you really love them then you’ll let them go when it’s time for them to rest.  And you’d move on with your life, because that’s what they’d want you to do.

But touch my tears with your lips,

Touch my world with your fingertips,

And we can have forever,

And we can love forever,

Forever is our today…

Queen

Trust in the Lord.  It’s easier said than done – trust in the Lord, anyway.  Take comfort in the thought that someday we will all be together with the people we love forever, and so much more because we will finally be with Him, too.

 

 

Categories: Ideas and Philosophy
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

