Home > Ideas and Philosophy > Salary Administration Insights

Salary Administration Insights

I’ve been doing salary administration work for my team for the last few days. This activity has reminded me of a few things.

It’s important to be recognized for the work you do. But at the most basic level, it still comes down to the financial benefit you get out of your work. Some people don’t mind working for free, and for these people they can do so because they can afford to do so. But for most of us, the whole point of a job is to be able to earn enough to live the life we want to live. We are in business for a reason, after all: We work to generate revenue for the organization we’re a part of, and we get compensated for our contributions to that goal. For as long as we’re getting paid right, I think we should be fine. And hopefully in the course of doing our jobs, we also make a career out of it, and enjoy most of the time doing so.

Speaking for myself, I admit there’s a part of me that still craves for appreciation and praise for my own output. Anecdotal feedback suggests that the higher you are in the organization, the more work you do and the less recognition you get. I don’t know how widespread this phenomenon is, but at least speaking for myself, I certainly feel it.

…Employees often see managing others as a badge of pride, not realizing the immense responsibility that comes along with it – managers work harder, have higher pressure and often get less recognition than staff not holding these management roles. – The Single Most Poisonous Factor in the Workplace Today

But at the end of the day, I don’t have to care for that which I crave for if I’m still paid fairly for my work – which of course will only happen if my output is at least noted, never mind if it’s appreciated or praised. And with the pay I get, I realized I can’t complain. The end credit for work I do can go to whoever wants it. For as long as I do what’s expected from me to the best of my abilities, and I’m still properly compensated for the same, I’ll be just fine – it’s just work, after all.

All things considered, this is a humbling reminder to me to be grateful for what I have, and I am.

Categories: Ideas and Philosophy
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

